Table of Contents:
- South Carolina Auto Insurance Costs by Insurer
- South Carolina Auto Insurance Premiums by Driver Age
- South Carolina Car Insurance Premiums by Gender and Marital Status
- Average South Carolina Insurance Rates After A Violation or Accident
- South Carolina Auto Insurance Premiums by Credit Tier
- Expensive South Carolina Cities
- Cheaper South Carolina Cities
- List of Insurance Companies in South Carolina
- No-fault Insurance in South Carolina Information
Understanding the South Carolina car insurance laws is vital for anyone who lives, works, or drives in the state. Review this guide to learn about the state’s minimum auto insurance rates and explore average costs for car insurance policies.
South Carolina Auto Insurance Costs by Insurer
WalletHub reports that these South Carolina auto insurance providers have the most affordable monthly rates:
- Allstate: $85
- American National Insurance: $43
- Auto-Owners: $90
- GEICO: $52
- Southern Farm Bureau: $92
- State Farm: $79
- Travelers Insurance: $75
- USAA: $84
South Carolina Auto Insurance Premiums by Driver Age
Younger drivers pay more for car insurance than older drivers because teens and twenty-somethings have a higher risk of serious accident claims. WalletHub lists these average annual premium rates by driver age:
- Age 16: $6537
- Age 25: $2041
- Ages 65 and older: $1590
South Carolina Car Insurance Premiums by Gender and Marital Status
According to The Zebra, male drivers pay slightly more than female drivers for auto insurance. Women pay an average of $1325.27 in South Carolina, while men pay an average of $1367.34.
The website also notes that marital status will affect your South Carolina insurance premiums as follows:
- $1367.34 per year for single or divorced drivers on average.
- $1299.61 per year for married drivers on average.
- $1340.93 per year for widowed drivers on average.
Average South Carolina Insurance Rates After A Violation or Accident
The Zebra lists these average annual premium rates for drivers who have accidents or violations:
- $1631.70 for a speeding ticket.
- $1789.49 for driving with an open container of alcohol.
- $1994.90 for an at-fault auto accident.
- $2065.13 for a conviction of driving under the influence.
- $2127 for a reckless driving ticket.
South Carolina Auto Insurance Premiums by Credit Tier
The Zebra reports that drivers can save significantly on auto insurance based on their credit ratings. The website breaks out the average annual policy cost by FICO score as follows:
- 800 to 850 (exceptional): $1225.83
- 799 to 740 (very good): $1423.07
- 670 to 739 (good): $1708.44
- 580 to 669 (fair): $2168.17
- 579 to 300 (very poor): $2760.99
Expensive South Carolina Cities
WalletHub notes that cities with high population density tend to have more frequent auto accident claims than rural areas, driving up the price of insurance. Average premium rates are highest for South Carolina drivers who live in North Charleston, Florence, Goose Creek, Mount Pleasant, Sumter, Conway, Lancaster, Charleston, Summerville, Moncks Corner, and Walterboro.
Cheaper South Carolina Cities
WalletHub reports that South Carolina residents pay lower-than-average auto insurance rates in Gaffney, Greer, Rock Mill, Fort Hill, North Augusta, Easley, Simpsonville, Greenwood, Anderson, and Aiken.
List of Insurance Companies in South Carolina
According to Bankrate, the best auto insurance companies in South Carolina include State Farm, Progressive, GEICO, Auto-Owners, and Allstate. The website bases its list on price and customer service ratings.
No-fault Insurance in South Carolina Information
According to the legal encyclopedia Nolo, South Carolina drivers must have at least:
- $25,000 for property damage liability per person.
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person.
- $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident.
This coverage pays for the other driver and passenger expenses if you have an at-fault collision. They can also pay for your legal expenses if the other driver sues you for damages after an at-fault auto accident.
The state also requires uninsured motorist (UM) coverage in the same minimum amounts as for liability coverage. You might see this quoted as a 25/50/25 policy. Your UM policy pays for your costs if you experience a hit-and-run accident or a collision with an uninsured driver.
Optional types of coverage in South Carolina include:
- Collision coverage, which pays for your repair costs after an accident.
- Comprehensive coverage, which pays for damage or loss to your vehicle from a noncollision cause such as weather or theft.
- Gap coverage, which pays off your auto loan balance if you total the vehicle before repaying the loan.
- Medical payment coverage, which pays medical expenses for you and your passengers after an accident.
- Rental car reimbursement coverage, which pays for the cost of a rental while your car gets repaired.
You must show proof of auto insurance if you apply for or renew a driver’s license or vehicle registration in South Carolina. You must also carry proof of insurance in your car and show it to law enforcement upon request.
The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles reports that you have 30 days to give the court proof of insurance after receiving a ticket from law enforcement. After 30 days, you will receive a license suspension and must pay $100 and provide proof of insurance to get your license back.
In lieu of UM insurance, South Carolina allows drivers to pay a UM registration fee for $550. After you pay this nonrefundable fee, you can drive without insurance but you must pay all property damage expenses and medical bills if you cause an accident. If you get a ticket or have an at-fault collision, you lose your UM registration and must purchase state minimum liability coverage.
ValuePenguin notes that you can only qualify for UM registration if:
- You have gone at least three years without traffic violations or accidents.
- You do not have a current SR-22 on file with the DMV.
- All licensed drivers in your household have been licensed for at least three years.
If you are a new South Carolina resident, you have 30 days to register your car after arriving in the state. You must show proof of auto insurance at the DMV to receive your registration.
This content is created and maintained by a third party, and imported onto this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at piano.io